1-2-3!

24 Jan

Happy Birthday to me! That picture is not of me, but of my grandma, with whom I share a birthday. She turned 85 yesterday, and my uncle made sure her cake accurately represented all of those years in lit candle-form. I wasn’t there, but I love this picture. Especially with my aunt’s face in the background.

My grandma said the fire alarm went off for a good ten minutes, and that she’s never laughed that hard in her life. Those two facts make for a pretty awesome birthday right there, if you ask me. Also, fun bit o’ trivia! My grandma is exactly 27 years older than my dad’s cousin, who was also born on January 23rd. That cousin is exactly 27 years older than me! There were no new family babies on my 27th birthday, so the tradition ended, but I am always holding out hope that my male cousin or brother will find out they have a baby mamma who birthed them a bastard lovechild on January 23rd, 2008.

I don’t really have much else to say, I just loved those pictures so much. My birthday was fun, but mellow. Lots of work stuff during the day that kept me busy, and then as part of my present my mom bought me a sushi lesson with a private teacher she knows (people, if you want to have connections in the community, you should become a teacher. My mom seriously has links to EVERYONE via the I-taught-her-child/cousin/brother. It’s rad). So I made some rolls and sashimi, then brought it to my parents’ house for a birthday dinner. Stephen’s birthday is the day after mine (today! Happy Birthday Stephen!) so it was a co-celebration. Although the poor chap had his wisdom teeth out this weekend, so he can’t really do much. But this reminds me that we have leftover strawberry shortcake in the fridge, so I’m off to get me some second-birthday breakfast. Yum!

2 Responses to “1-2-3!”

  1. Lucy January 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday!!!

  2. vivren January 24, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Your birthday this year was 123123! (Well, at 3pm.) AND THEN what if it was 3:12 and 3 seconds?!?!

    Whoa. Get out of the Matrix.

Leave a Reply

