’tis the season for horror stories!

12 Dec

I was all about the cultural experiences this weekend. I was also all about losing at Mystery Rummy many times in a row, but we will focus on the culture, because that’s much more flattering to me. And definitely more interesting (DAMN YOU RIPPER ESCAPES CARD!!!).

Saturday night Stephen and some friends and I went to see “What Happened at Sunny Sky? (The Acheri.).” It is technically a horror play, though is described as an “experience” rather than a play, and I can get behind that definition. They had a whole building outfitted as a creepy abandoned daycare, and the play was acted out across two rooms. You sit right in amongst the action. After taking our tickets outside, the doorman only let us in a few at a time, always putting on one of those white painter’s fumes mask over his face before opening the door. It was an awesome touch. When telling a friend about that very detail this weekend, he asked “was the play about a virus?” and I was all “well . . . I don’t know . . .”

And that was the only problem. The story was pretty convoluted. The beginning was great, because there were lots of scary little startles, and you get into it because it’s the play’s beginning, so mystery is ok, it’s all going to be explained in the end. Except it wasn’t? Or, I didn’t understand it. It was super-ambitious and fun to watch, but . . . only if you don’t mind being confused. It was really unique and had some genuinely scary moments, and I am really glad we saw it . . . but I was a little bummed to feel like everything kind of got twisted and never untwisted (wouldn’t it be great if twost was the past tense of twisted?). I read about its creation, and it was apparently “crafted during intensive improv workshops with the company’s actors.” Which . . . I mean . . . I don’t know anything about writing plays, but it definitely had a “too-many-cooks-in-the-kitchen” feel too it, so maybe that’s why? ANYHOO, I think only one person in Boise actually reads this blog, so, Karen, you should see it, despite those caveats. All you other five readers who don’t live in Boise should be jealous, despite those caveats.

My other cultural activity was to take niecey-poo to see The Nutcracker, another horror play, in my opinion. Because that story is majorly whack. I didn’t really know the plot until reading the synopsis at intermission, but damn gina. I will add this to my Things People Think Are Cute But Are Really Kind of Awful: The Christmas Edition* list. I mean, it’s supposed to be a dream, right? Except she doesn’t wake up at the end, so maybe it’s not a dream? What I couldn’t get over is how many of the little girls in the audience totally looovvveeedd it. Including my niece. I could tell when the Big Parts were because I could hear little girlie voices squealing “The candy canes!” etc. in surround-sound throughout the theater. Is this a thing? I swear I did not know about the existence of The Nutcracker till teenagehood, when a dancer friend of mine performed in it. And I saw her performance, but I can’t remember any of it, I just had a vague impression that it was like, Toy Story: The Ballet. I didn’t realize the girl fell in love with the nutcracker and got magicked away to his homeland (though I do like the touch of her hitting the Rat King with her shoe to help NC win the fight; major props, Clara. Buttercup could learn a thing or two from you [when they’re in the fire swamp and she just stands there as the ROUS attacks Wes? UGH]). Anyway, I guess little girls are supposed to love this ballet. I only took tap dance, and I spent most of my childhood writing fan letters to Koko the gorilla when I should’ve been attending ballets with sugarplum fairies, apparently. So I am just catching up now. Isabelle loved it, because she’s a normal little girl who has danced the sugarplum fairy dance in her ballet class, and has a nutcracker book. I liked it too, because even I can appreciate pretty swirly dancing. I only got bored once or twice. I like group dances, but the individual dances in this kind of thing never hold my attention as much. Because I am unsophisticated (further proof of that: I was probably the only person there in jeans. I can’t take myself anywhere!)

*Don’t even get me started on the Elf on the Shelf thing

One Response to “’tis the season for horror stories!”

  1. vivren December 12, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    I never liked Nutcracker because I thought it was creepy as hell, now AND then. But I adore the music. THE MUSIC!!! SO GOOD. Ugh, I even bought the Kirov Orchestra CD (mp3 album) of it…in the middle of summer.

    Also, I thought it was fairly well established that Buttercup is a huge bitch.

Leave a Reply

