Bananas! So many uses!

19 Oct

To take a break from the Halloweening, let’s talk ice cream!

I am probably slow on the internet bandwagon, because I feel like I’ve seen it everywhere (at least everywhere on pinterest), but have you guys tried one-ingredient banana ice cream? I am obsessed.

  1. You cut up bananas.
  2. You freeze them. (my best results were with freezing them overnight, but I did some that were frozen for like, two hours. Still tasty, just more kind of melty)
  3. You put them in a food processor.
  4. You hit the button.
  5. You come out with something that’s the consistency of soft-serve, and (if you’re me) you add a little peanut butter, and you LOVE IT.

Seriously. Here’s more detailed steps. It’s so good. Sometimes, I just want the consistency of something, more than the flavor. Like, I might not know what I want to eat, but I know it must be in a bowl that I can take big mouthfuls of, or I know that I need to eat it with my hands. I don’t know, it’s just a thing. Which is why this is so great! When I want ice creamy goodness, it totally tricks my brain into thinking it’s ice cream, but it’s fruit! Take THAT, dumb brain! HA!

If I had kids, I would totally give this to them and claim it was real ice cream, and the ONLY ice cream. Then when they got to college and found out there was more than just banana flavor of ice cream, oh-ho! Would they be surprised!

I hate my food processor. It’s so hard to clean. I avoid using it at all costs. I used it to make “ice cream” three times last week. Which means I dirtied and cleaned my processor three times. Which means I really like this shit.

Also,  it’s kinda crazy how it goes from sandy grainy to silky smooth in two seconds. Magic! Or, science. (to me they are basically interchangeable). 

4 Responses to “Bananas! So many uses!”

  1. vivren October 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    I have heard a lot about this! But I have yet to try it. You need a magic bullet!

  2. Jane Doe October 28, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Oh – I hate disehs too and I found a smart trick for cleaning things like blenders and food processors. You put dish soap and hot water in them and then turn them on and let them self clean.

  3. Jane Doe October 28, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    *dishes

    D’oh. I hate when I get so excited about inane household tricks that I typo

    • camalittle November 10, 2011 at 1:29 am #

      Thanks, Jane! That is a stellar idea! I am going to try it tonight. Watch out you dirty dishes, you!

Leave a Reply

